Chicago Blizard Of 2011 vs Big Snow of 1967

Looking Back at Chicago’s Past With Snow in my eyes

Weather Memories

This coming snowstorm will likely dwarf the impacts of the Big Snow of 1967 in the Chicago Area. 100,000,000 people may be impacted by the various dimensions of this storm nationally. For me, being from the Chicago area, the local impact will have to meet a different criterion.

The forecast for this expected snowstorm in Chicago has it potentially topping the “Big Snow” of 1967.  I lived in a nearby Southwest suburb that was actually near the heaviest band of that storm. We had 34 inches, with much more dramatic effects. I remember how surprised we were when we heard that so much of Chicago only had 23 inches from that one. The only folks getting anywhere quickly were on skis.

This next storm may not have those kind of localized differences. But this new storm will have to top 34-36 inches in my mind, and my mind has its own kind of measuring stick, or dip-stick.

That year of 1967, my town had the “Chicago” tornado of 1967, a small earthquake; 4.-something I believe, and my last remaining parent committed suicide, there was that.  Quite a year for me there.  But during the Big Snow I did deliver newspapers.  Folks were shocked that I arrived at the door over the snowdrifts, some even gave $1 and $5 dollar tips which were huge back then.

So Chicago.  I’ll just be waiting to see that yardstick disappear into the open field, with just your hand holding the tip. But for the rest of the Chicagoland Area, I suppose hitting 24 inches will do the record breaking job.

Now I have to prepare for the deep freeze coming here for the next few nights

Weather Events: The Great Chicago Snow of 1967

– 9:31am

Jan 19, 2007 One of the many weather events I missed in old stomping grounds happened forty years ago this month: the Great Chicago Snow of 1967.



Warm Arctic/Cold Continent Paradox

The Arctic Paradox – how warming makes for cold winters | Climatide

Dec 15, 2010 The Arctic Paradox – how warming makes for cold winters cold U.S. and Europe as the “Warm Arctic/Cold Continents Pattern,” which is the