Palin’s View on Proposed Health Care a Contradiction?

The Degeneration of the Health Care Debate

Attention is the question, when it comes to words and ideas.  This is always true for politicians, bloggers or anyone: My interest are described in what I chose to look at.  Why do I focus on what I do? Why do I find this focus important for filling up my life?

In politics and religion, even in advice, this point of view intrudes for its good reason.  Politics and religion, especially, argue for a point of view for truth and truthfulness.  They seem to ask for analysis due to their claims, yet often seem to reject criticism.  This may indicate that you or I or whomever, wants to tell but not to hear.

Politics and religion both seem to take this; I will tell you but you just be quiet unless you agree, frame of mind.  It is a one way street on a conceptual highway that could be said to flow in many other directions.  Getting folks to go your way does seem to be safer from the subjective point of view, but this does not predict truthfulness or honesty of heart.

I say all this stuff, not just because I tend to be long-winded in setting my context, but to suggest how I or someone can say something that sounds good, but is dubious in its reality.  Here is where I will put Sarah Palin’s recent comment, I should put Keith Olbermann’s comment on hers in it as well, for he corrected her comment with a point of view that too was curious in its confident proclamation of reality.

Palin made these comments:

“The America I know and love is not one in which my parents or my baby with Down Syndrome will have to stand in front of Obama’s ‘death panel’ so his bureaucrats can decide, based on a subjective judgment of their ‘level of productivity in society,’ whether they are worthy of health care,”

“Such a system is downright evil,”

Keith Olbermann responded to this with:

“There is no ‘death panel.’ There is no judgment based on societal productivity. There is no worthiness test. But there is downright evil, and Ms. Palin, you just served its cause,”

Really Keith?  Really Sarah?

Mr Olbermann went on to describe how we Americans would not tolerate a system based on worthiness or having death panels.

Really?

It seems that the art of making points can lose the reality of situations that we Americans face every day.  What is this reality?  Heck, I’ll use myself as a example; If I cannot afford to have my childhood tooth issues addressed, I am not worthy of having them addressed.  What part of worthiness does insurance, income and health care not understand?

Apparently, the nose on the individuals and the nations face is not seen for the positioning of good ideas to entice fool-able followers.  Insurance companies are routinely denying the worthiness of the insureds health issues.  Money is the sole factor for me determining if I am “worthy” of a procedure.  People lose there homes in addressing the worthiness of their or their children’s, or their parents worthiness to have a procedure, or face the possible death panel of not the right amount of cash on the health care table.

Oh its semantics; we do not put fee’s in the ideological category as constituting actual worthiness.  Um?  How realistic is such an assessment?  For we Americans are daily making just such assessments of what to sacrifice to be worthy for addressing our health care concerns. While some people thinking they are all safe and secure with their coverage do not actually know what worthiness issues they will find when they get their worthiness dissected.

As for senior citizen issues; I am currently involved with seniors who, though relatively well-off, are having a nightmare in having their issues even diagnosed without many month delays in getting appointments. These for what are quite possibly life threatening issues; like a leg giving way while walking normally for one, and new dramatic nerve dysfunction in another, and a first heart attack in yet another.  Weeks and months waiting to be diagnosed, and then someone has to keep up on the situation just to put the pieces together of what is to be done next.

Not in their America?

Not in the America they knew?

It seems they may not be on their planet.

Ignorance and confusion remain society’s predators main source of public access.

It is facing the truth that will have America know what actually is, and not the ideological conflict parade following its conceptual marching orders as if powered by darkness, but claiming to represent light.

The truth is: We currently put money as the denominator of worthiness to live or die.  We make up other “cause” to this reality at our own, and the nations peril.