IS SCIFI’S STARGATE FRANCHISE THE NEXT STAR TREK?

IS SCIFI’S STARGATE FRANCHISE THE NEXT STAR TREK?

While watching the SciFi Channels Stargate Atlantis (my favorite), it dawned on me, some 40 odd years after the fist Star Trek; that the Stargate dialing initiating scene reminded me of the beginning of Star Trek’s “These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise, it’s continuing mission to explore a strange new world, to seek out new life and new .” For when that gate dials, the promise of adventure beckons.

Now I know there are a lot of similarities, even with earth accents and all, but will the Stargate series go on to rival Star Trek? Or is Star Trek just too far ahead in too many areas?

All I know is I enjoy what they often do at the Stargate’s. A little less inventive than Star Trek perhaps, but the character’s are at times equally compelling.

If this idea of Stargate being the next Star Trek was bounced around years ago. Uh? I’ve been stuck in a time warp as many of you know. Or is that a mind warp?

Charismatic Amanda Tapping and crew-mate in approx 5 min. preview.

Star Trek :: Official Site

Currently featuring Enterprise, the latest in the Star Trek series. Includes news, interviews, cast biographies, episode guides.

Stargate Home Page

Official MGM Site. Offers air schedules, biographies of cast and crew, episodes, photo gallery and links.