YOU ARE THE BESTEST WRITER EVER!!!—NEXT.

ABOUT FORM LETTERS JUST FOR YOUR EGO

I put one poem on-line at a poetry site many years ago. That site went on to send me many invitations to events over the years. Some events had (lets say ex) movie or TV stars (surly paid to be there) who your were invited, as a famous poet, to hob-nob with presumably.

Just one poem may I remind you.

I went on to receive dozens of invitations to award ceremonies and anthologies (which will cost you) because I was such a well known famous poet.  My prise waiting upon my arrival. The invitations would say my name then tell of how familiar they (esteemed poetry judges) were with the body of my work and how respected I was.  Won’t I come to get my famous award for my famous work they were so aware of?—One short not so special poem.

WHY TELL ME ABOUT THIS?

There is a like minded little note that arrives as spam, but is in a form letter, occasionally with a word changed. It goes something like this; I came across your site on such and such, read a few of your post, and am linking you to my whatever RSS or BS feed. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more of your; (me being sarcastic) so famous poetry that I love you for. So won’t you put me on your site as a new best friend?

I guess some think poets are desperately lonely and ego insecure, looking for someone to say they are actually wonderful and recognize their special, extra special expressive gifts. (Not that going to an event with people in the same boat as you might not be a good, but expensive time.) But there seems to be the same assumption that a little flattery on-line will get you to help someone market something.

IT’S WAY BACK! BACK! BACK! IT’S A GRAND SPAM!!!

Your new best on-line friend recognizing your great site and astounding writing skills, may just be using you as a sales ploy.

I say that because I know your work. We all do. You are an incredible resource for humankind, thanks to your site, our lives are much richer. Bless you for all you offer to all of us, and if you would be so kind, would you please check out the adds on my site? I’m sure someone as special as you would find something you could use, being that you have such remarkable discernment. No really. You are so wonderful I cannot believe it!

NEXT…